Beer Cheese Bread Recipe

September 1, 2010 at 5:12 pm Leave a comment

Beer. Cheese. Bread.

Is there any combination of three words which can top that? I think not.

I got this recipe from the madre. I must say, I was not disappointed. On my first attempt, I used a low-end light beer (PBR? Heineken? Don’t remember). On my second attempt, I upped it to a Guinness. The flavor difference was noticeable. Surprisingly, it tasted much more yeasty with the Guinness. I still want to try using a Belgian ale sometime, but it’s very difficult for me to do anything but drink a Belgian.

Recipe:
3 c self-rising flour
1/2 c sugar
3/4 c grated sharp cheddar cheese
2-4 T fresh chopped chives
1 (12 oz) bottle beer
1/4 c melted butter

Instructions:
Mix together all of the dry ingredients. Fold in the beer. (Like pancakes, it doesn’t need to be smooth. Chunky goopiness is a good thing).  Pour into a greased 9 x 5 bread pan. Bake at 350¹ for 45 min. Pour melted butter over the top and bake 10 more minutes. Let cool for 15 minutes then remove from pan and finish cooling.

(Self-rising flour is easy to make if you don’t have any. For every cup of flour add 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. For this recipe add 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder to the 3 cups flour.)

Possible Variation:
Skip the chives and add chili powder instead. How much depends on how much you can handle. Since this recipe liberally uses cheese and butter (which counteract the burn), I would recommend doubling the amount of chili that you would usually use to flavor something. I put my slightly more than standard amount in, and could barely feel a burn.

Entry filed under: Bread, Recipes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Smitten Kitchen is my new favorite Pumpkin and Black Bean Enchiladas with Mole Negro Recipe

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


